Jairam Thakur to be Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister

Adjust Comment Print

"It is expected that Thakur will take oath as the State's next CM on December 27 at a ceremony where Prime Minister Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah and a galaxy of top leaders would be present", a source said.

Mr Parmar was elected four times, Mr Kumar - three times, Mr Singh - five times, and Mr Dhumal two times.

The other main contender for the post of CM was Union Health Minister J.P. Nadda, but there was no consensus on his name.

Earlier, BJP central observers Nirmala Sitharaman and Narendra Singh Tomar met newly-elected MLAs and other party leaders in Shimla today to decide on chief minister.

The BJP had won a landslide in the recently concluded 2017 Himachal Pradesh assembly polls.

Seen largely as a low-profile man, Thakur is from a farming family of Mandi.

Kulbhushan Jadhav thanks Pakistan for 'grand gesture' after meeting family
Mohammed Faisal, spokesperson, Pakistan foreign ministry, said: "Commander Jadhav is the face of Indian terrorism in Pakistan". According to sources in Chabahar, Jadhav lived with his family; his family, however, declined to comment on this.

Thakur along with senior party leaders handed a letter staking his claim to form the government in Himachal Pradesh to Governor Acharya Devvrat who invited him to do so. There were celebrations and processions in Mandi town after Thakur was elected.

A five-term MLA, Thakur won from Seraj constituency, defeating Congress candidate Chet Ram.

Thakur was just 28 years old when he first contested the assembly elections from Chachiot in Himachal in 1993. Their efforts paid off as Thakur acquired an MA degree from Panjab University in Chandigarh. He also promised to leave "no stone unturned" to meet the expectations of the Himachal's people.

Known for his integrity, Thakur enjoys a good rapport with his voters and the remoteness and hard topography notwithstanding, got 56 of 58 panchayats in the Seraj constituency connected by road. Apart from that, he has served as Vice President of Himachal Pradesh in 2003- 2005 and later he was President of the state in 2006 to 2009.

According to News18, Thakur has two daughters and is married to ABVP colleague Sadhana Thakur.

His rise was also helped by the factor that this time BJP has made clean sweep in Mandi district by winning nine seats out of total 10.